What is microfilm?
Microfilm reels consist of very small photographs of records. Reels of film take up much less space than original records and also allow researchers to have access to information not in our collection.
Research Tip: Newspapers!
Newspapers are a valuable resource when conducting genealogical and local history research. Articles and announcements in newspapers are often the only surviving historical record of an event. The information they contain is directly from the past and can be extremely useful when conducting historical research.
Resources at LCA
Vital Statistics: Death Registrations
Death Registrations and Indexes: 1869-1939 on microfilm.
1940 and 1941 death registration reels can be ordered from the Archives of Ontario through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Family Surname Files
These files contain records and documents on a particular family surname. Contact us to determine if the we have a file on the surname you are researching.
Family files may contain family trees, obituaries, wills, and memorial cards.
Local newspapers and indexes
We have many local newspapers in our collection which can be consulted for obituary announcements. The following are the main papers and their corresponding indexes. We have many other newspapers and indexes, so please contact us to check if we have the time period you are looking for.
- Sarnia Observer: 1853 - Present
The index is available in bound volumes from 1853-2004. From 2005 to the present, the index is available online in the Museum's catalogue. (Search for "obituary" under "Object Name" and type person's name under "Subject/Image".) The index will point you to the date and page of the issue in which the obituary appeared. You can then look at the microfilm for that issue and page to find the original notice in the newspaper.
- Petrolia Advertiser Topic: 1874 - Present
This newspaper is being indexed by volunteers from the Lambton County Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society. They have currently indexed up to 1924 obituaries, but the index is continually being updated.
Death Notices & Obituaries From The Methodist Newspapers, 1836-1890
This series of books contain death notices and obituaries that appeared in Canadian Methodist newspapers.
Each volume covers a period of time, and the transcriptions inside are in alphabetical order.
Lambton County Cemetery Transcriptions
The Lambton County OGS completed a project to transcribe the grave markers in every cemetery in Lambton County. We have a copy of these indexed transcriptions.
We also have copies of cemetery transcriptions for the neighbouring counties of Middlesex, Huron, and Kent. Please contact us to determine if we have the cemetery you are searching for.
