What is microfilm?
Microfilm reels consist of very small photographs of records. Reels of film take up much less space than original records and also allow researchers to have access to information not in our collection.
Research Tip: Newspapers!
Newspapers are a valuable resource when conducting genealogical and local history research. Articles and announcements in newspapers are often the only surviving historical record of an event. The information they contain is directly from the past and can be extremely useful when conducting historical research.
Resources at LCA
Vital Statistics: Birth Registrations
Birth Registrations and Indexes: 1869-1914 on microfilm.
1915 and 1916 birth registration reels can be ordered from the Archives of Ontario through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Family Surname Files
These files contain records and documents on a particular family surname. Contact us to determine if the we have a file on the surname you are researching.
Family files may contain family trees and birth announcements.
Local newspapers and indexes
We have many local newspapers in our collection which can be consulted for birth announcements. The following are the main papers and their corresponding indexes. We have many other newspapers and indexes, so please contact us to check if we have the time period you are looking for.
- Sarnia Observer: 1853 - Present
The index is available in bound volumes from 1853-2004. From 2005 to the present, the index is available online in the Museum's catalogue. (Search for "birth" under "Object Name" and type person's name under "Subject/Image".) The index will point you to the date and page of the issue in which the birth announcement appeared. You can then look at the microfilm for that issue and page to find the original notice in the newspaper.
- Petrolia Advertiser Topic: 1874 - Present
This newspaper is being indexed by volunteers from the Lambton County Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society. They have currently indexed up to 1919 births, but the index is continually being updated.
Wesleyan Methodist Baptismal Register, 1825-1910
The Wesleyan Methodist Baptismal Register is a general register of baptisms and births of members of the church in Canada, but mostly consists of records from Ontario. Originally recorded in four volumes, the originals are located at the United Church of Canada Archives.
We have the microfilm reels of these records. Please consult the indexes first to locate where the record is on which reel.
Wesleyan Methodist Baptismal Register Index, 1825-1910
We have many indexes of these records for various counties. The most useful index is the one for Lambton County.
The index list the name of the person baptised, the dates of birth and baptism, location of baptism, and their parents' names and birth locations.
