Skip to main content

Death Records: Databases

What are databases?

Databases are organized collections of information. There are many databases containing information on death records.

The online databases highlighted in the box on the right will be the most useful to find Ontario and Canadian death records. Many of these databases also contain digitized scans of the original records!

Databases of Death Records

Family Search: "Ontario Deaths, 1869-1937 and Overseas Deaths, 1939-1947"

An online index to the Ontario death records from 1869-193 and overseas deaths from 1939-1947. Search by name and the results will list death date and location, age, birthplace and parents' names. The record will also list a registration and GS film number which can be used to find the registration on a microfilm reel at a Family History Centre.

Family Search: Canadian Birth, Marriage, and Death Records

This is a list of databases of birth, marriage, and death records across Canada. Select the province and type of event you are searching for (i.e. deaths) to search that database. Some databases contain images in this free resource.

Ancestry: "Ontario, Canada, Deaths, 1869-1938 and Deaths Overseas, 1939-1947"

[This database is only accessible from the Lambton County Archives or from a branch of the Lambton County Library without a paid personal subscription to Ancestry.]

This database is an index of deaths which were registered in Ontario between 1869 and 1938 and Ontario military personnel who died overseas from 1939-1947. Information included is this index: death date and location, age, birth location, occupation, and names of parents. Digitized scans of the original marriage registration are also available.

Ancestry: Death, Burial, Cemetery & Obituary Databases

[These databases are only accessible from the Lambton County Archives or from a branch of the Lambton County Library without a paid personal subscription to Ancestry.]

This is a list of databases of death, burial, cemetery, and obituary records across Canada. Select a database that may contain a reference to an individual you are searching for. A new page will open and you can enter that individual's name in the search box.

Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid

The OCFA is a "pointer" database which by searching the given and surname of an individual, points you to the cemetery name and location of the interment.

Once you find which cemetery you are looking for, you can locate the transcription of the grave marker in our cemetery transcription binders in the LCA.