Skip to main content

Birth Records: Databases

What are databases?

Databases are organized collections of information. There are many databases containing information on birth records.

The online databases highlighted in the box on the right will be the most useful to find Ontario and Canadian birth records. Many of these databases also contain digitized scans of the original records!

Databases of Birth Records

Family Search: "Ontario Births, 1869-1912"

An online index to the Ontario birth records from 1869-1912. Search by name and the results will list date, birth place, and parents' names. The record will also list a registration and GS film number which can be used to find the registration on a microfilm reel at a Family History Centre.

Family Search: Canadian Birth, Marriage, and Death Records

This is a list of databases of birth, marriage, and death records across Canada. Select the province and type of event you are searching for (i.e. births) to search that database. Some databases contain images in this free resource.

Ancestry: "Ontario, Canada Births, 1869-1913"

[This database is only accessible from the Lambton County Archives or from a branch of the Lambton County Library without a paid personal subscription to Ancestry.]

This database is an index of births which were registered in Ontario between 1869 and 1913. Information included is this index: child's name, birth date, parent's names, and birth place. Digitized scans of the original birth registration are also included.

Ancestry: Birth, Baptism, and Christening Databases

[These databases are only accessible from the Lambton County Archives or from a branch of the Lambton County Library without a paid personal subscription to Ancestry.]

This is a list of databases of birth, baptism, and christening records across Canada. Select a database that may contain a reference to an individual you are searching for. A new page will open and you can enter that individual's name in the search box.