Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Local History : Databases

What are databases?

Databases are organized collections of information. There are many databases containing information on Lambton County's history.

The online databases highlighted in the box on the right will be useful for those researching local history or for genealogists who wish to better understand the context in which their ancestors lived. Many of these databases also contain digitized scans of the original records!

Databases of Local History

In Search of Your Canadian Past: The Canadian County Atlas Digital Project: Map of Lambton County

This project by McGill University has digitized historic county atlases of Ontario. Clicking on a township on the map of Lambton County brings you to a page of a map of that township. You can also view a larger version of each map (to see all the text) and the project also includes an index of individuals with biographical details and which lot of land they owned.

The Warwick Township History Committee Collection

This collection of material was created by The Warwick Township History Committee through the creation of their book The Township of Warwick: A Story Through Time. Over 3,500 items in the collection are viewable on the Lambton County Museums Catalogue. View digitized scans of articles, drawings, and photographs which tells the story of Warwick Township. To search for a specific image, type the subject into the second search box (below "The Warwick Township History Committee Collection") and hit "Search."

(See this blog post for more information on this collection.)

Sarnia Observer Negative Collection

This collection of images at the Lambton County Archives was created by the Sarnia Observer newspaper. Often, the newspaper photographer would shoot many photos that wouldn’t make it into the newspaper. These images are a wonderful addition to the text in the corresponding article and tell a fuller story. The images are viewable on the Lambton County Museums Catalogue and the negatives start in 1949. It is an ongoing project at the LCA to clean, catalogue, and digitize the over 100,000 negatives which make up this collection spanning 1949-1967 and 1986-2001. We have currently digitized up to the mid-1950s and they are available in the online catalogue. To search for a specific image, type the subject into the second search box (below "Sarnia Observer Negative") and hit "Search."

(See this blog post for more information on this collection.)