How Libraries Are Useful
Libraries are often a great source of local history information. Public libraries have a tradition of collecting local history documents and many libraries in Lambton County continue to do so.
These resources tend to be quite specific to the geographic region that the library serves.
Lambton County Library
The Lambton County Library offers a broad array of resources on local history. Circulating books on local history can be borrowed from any library branch and resources can be accessed for free from online databases (see the Genealogy and History categories for links to applicable databases.)
The Library also offers patrons free access to the Library Edition of Ancestry, a powerful genealogical database. (Users must be in a library branch to access the records in this database.)
Some library branches also contain special local history collections. These collections do not circulate and must be accessed within the library.
The Alvinston Library has a variety of resources to assist researchers with information on the former Brooke Township and village of Alvinston. Notable resources include:
- published history books of the former Brooke Township and Alvinston
- photos and articles in binders on schools, sports, churches, community events, and groups in Brooke-Alvinston
- binder on Archibald Gardiner, founding pioneer of the community
- family histories for families in Brooke-Alvinston
- binder on the Slovak community
- copies of Alvinston and St. Matthew's cemetery records
The Inwood Library has a variety of resources to assist researchers with information on the former Brooke Township and village of Inwood. Notable resources include:
- published history books of Inwood
- pictures and articles in binders of the history of Inwood
- pictures and articles on celebration of 100th and 125th anniversaries of Inwood
- books on churches in Inwood area
The Point Edward Library has a Heritage Room located on the top floor of the library. Retired staff member Marg Scott has collected items on Point Edward's history for over 20 years. The Heritage Room is open to the public during library hours for self-directed research and study.
Notable resources include:
- photo gallery of images of schools, sports, churches, and street scenes which have all been indexed
- village history books held in binders include clippings, histories, and images of the community's heritage as well as biographies of prominent residents
- display of items from the former Point Edward United Church (which closed in June 2012) which features original deeds from the Village of Huron and Point Edward, a plaque of ministers from 1873-2012, and a list recognizing significant donors to the church.
The Shetland Library has a variety of resources to assist researchers with information on the former Euphemia Township and hamlet of Shetland. Notable resources include:
- binder on local churches and cemeteries, which includes photos, historical information, and newspaper clippings
- binder on council, public works, and agriculture, which includes photos and newspaper clippings
- binder on Euphemia Township Central School (1966-2000), includes photos and newspaper clippings
- binder on the communities of Aberfeldy, Atkin, (Sunnyside),Cairo, Shetland, and Shetland Conservation Area, Post offices, and Libraries
- softcover book titled Jane Hopkins Moorhouse Our Mother (1783-1869) by Elaine Moorehouse Harvey
- book titled The Moorhouses of Bear Creek, Bathhurst and Brockville by Norine Tinny Wolf
- The Dobby Family History complied by Norine Wolf
- Euphemia Township School 25th Anniversary (1965-1990)
- Shetland Women's Institute: Shetland Branch Minutes and Treasures Report, 1907-1997
The Watford Library has a variety of resources to assist researchers with information on Warwick Township and the village of Watford. Notable resources include:
- photos and information of Watford and Warwick events
- cemetery books on several local cemeteries
- historical records of elementary schools in Warwick township and Watford Village
- several histories of local churches
- Tweedsmuir History by Warwick Womens Institute
The Wyoming Library has a variety of resources to assist researchers with information on the former Plympton Township and village of Wyoming. Notable resources include:
- binders created by the Bear Creek Women's Institute of Wyoming homes, doctors, public facilities, and businesses
- photo albums of images celebrating Wyoming's centennial in 1973
- binder of histories on Plympton Township, Wyoming, Petrolia, and the Wyoming Cemetery index
- binder titled Dr. R. L. Norris: This is Your Life, 1909-1975
- published books on Wyoming and Lambton's heritage and history
